Simple and Delish: Honey-Dijon Chicken & Delicata Squash

19 Oct

I bought the squash for its name.  Delicata.  I love it.  There’s nothing delicate-looking about winter squash in general and this one had its share of knobs and bumps – yet it dares to take the name “Delicata.”

It was delicious.  I took a bite before I added butter, salt and pepper, and alone, it was buttery and smooth and just really good.  So you can be super-healthy and skip the tasty additions.  My husband did that.  He’s always one-upping me on the nutrition front.  Are you the one in your relationship that always suggests ice cream or cookies or nachos at 10 pm?  There is always one, mark my words.  But back to the squash.  The Delicata (at least ours) do have less flesh than butternuts or acorns, so buy a big one if you want a substantial side dish.

All I did was microwave it for 7 minutes and let it sit while I did a few things, then cut it in half and scooped out the seeds and stringy stuff.  Easy, easy, easy.

I’ve been wanting to try this chicken marinade for a while, after seeing it in the Pioneer Woman’s show and in her cookbook.  Yum!  It’s a little sweet (that’s the honey talkin’) and a little tangy (the mustard chimes in).  I didn’t use much crushed red pepper, so it lacked heat.  I’ll toss in probably half a teaspoon next time.  Next time I will also top it with thick, crispy bacon and piles of melted cheese.  But this time we had it plain.  The better to really taste it, right?  The Big Guy was disappointed, I know, even though he did not say it aloud.

I grilled it inside, in a grill pan.  Sigh.  I hate doing that because it always, always leaves such a sticky, hard-to-remove gunk in the grill pan.  But the wind was blowing 50 mph – literally – so it was the lesser of two evils.  That’s the kind of wind that will blow a patio chair into your shins and a flower pot at your neck.  I was not taking any chances.  Plus, it would have ruined my hair.

I’m calling the chicken marinade something different, because even she admits no real reason for her original title, Ranch Style Chicken.  Artistic liberty.  I love it.  If you want the original recipe, with all her funny witticisms, click the link above.  Reread for fun.

Honey-Dijon Chicken
serves: 2 plus leftovers (unless you’re really hungry)

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, pounded to even 1/4″ thickness
1/4 c honey
1/4 c dijon mustard, grainy otherwise
the juice of 1/3 a whole lemon
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

Mix the marinade ingredients together by squeezing in a large plastic zip-top bag.  Add the chicken, press out air and seal.  Squish around to coat evenly.  Refrigerate for 1-3 hours, turning occasionally so every part of the chicken gets soaked in the marinade.

Heat grill pan over medium heat or grill to medium.  Cook for 5-7 minutes, flip and cook until done.

2 Responses to “Simple and Delish: Honey-Dijon Chicken & Delicata Squash”

  1. mamacravings October 19, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    This looks so delicious!

  2. The Scrumptious Pumpkin October 19, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    Too funny – my husband and I take turns with the 10pm junk food cravings! This chicken sounds not at all ranch style but very delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

