Creamy Potato Soup

14 Oct

Chopping vegetables is therapeutic for me. Chopping potatoes is not.

So when I realized I only had 2 pounds of potatoes and could only make half this recipe for Creamy Potato Soup, I wasn’t disappointed. I was pleased. The recipe calls for chopped potatoes, but I prefer smaller bites of potato in my potato soups (kind of like how I always dice my veggies and onions, no matter what kind of rough chop the recipe may call for) so dice away, dice away.

So Many Potatoes

Unfortunately, after dicing all those potatoes and mincing two cloves of garlic, I forgot I was halving the recipe, and added the full amounts of chicken soup base, salt and pepper. Well. Potatoes need a lot of seasoning, right? I was comfortable with the mistake. And a happy mistake it was! This Creamy Potato Soup has just the right consistency and an amazing flavor.

I’d suggest doubling this recipe. You’re going to want leftovers. Anyway, like any good soup worth the pot it’s made in, this freezes well, so leftovers need not be wasted.

Creamy Potato Soup

Here’s my version:

Creamy Potato Soup
makes 4 servings

2 lbs. red potatoes, diced (peel if desired; I didn’t)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1 Tbsp. (heaping) chicken soup base
4 c. water
8 oz. cream cheese, cut into chunks and softened

Place potatoes, garlic, salt, pepper and soup base into slow cooker. Add water. Cover and cook on high for 4 hours, or on low for 8. About 30 minutes before you want to serve the soup, mix in the cream cheese. Stir occasionally to help it melt, replacing lid after stirring.

Nutritional Information
(based on 1-cup serving)
calories 150
fat 8 g (using full-fat cream cheese; I used reduced-fat and the consistency was fine)
carbs 17 g
fiber 2 g
protein 3 g

2 Responses to “Creamy Potato Soup”

  1. yourothermotherhere October 14, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    I love potato soup. My mother always made is with milk, cream and butter. When you wrote that you like to dice small, it reminded me of the time I had potato soup at my sister-in-law’s house. She made it with instant potatoes! To my surprise, it was good!

    • kitchenmommy October 14, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      Yum – you can’t go wrong when cream and butter are involved! And I bet the texture would be great with instant potatoes. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

