Mom’s Hot Rolls

3 Oct

Am I reaching too far to say that making homemade rolls is a lost art?  If you make hot rolls regularly, I salute you.  I just know that I never make them.  “Here’s lookin’ at you, Rhodes,” is my response when a meal “needs” a roll beside it.

But my Mom makes these legendary hot rolls that she claims are so easy to make.  The Big Guy loves them.  The Little Guy, being on his carbie kick, is pretty much guaranteed to love them.  We were having Perfect Pot Roast.  It just seemed right.  That’s how Mom usually serves them, with pot roast and carrots.

So I gave it a shot.  Mom wasn’t lying (sorry I doubted, Mom).  Though the rolls take some pre-planning, they are so simple.  No kneading!  I hate bread dough all over my hands – except that then I can lick it off…

Pillowy Soft $ Light as Air – No Kidding Around

The dough rises overnight.  Then, in the morning you separate it into three parts and roll each out, cutting each piece into 8 triangles, which you then roll into crescent rolls.

I’m Bad at Cutting Even Pieces

But once you’ve rolled the triangles into crescent rolls, it really doesn’t matter what they looked like before.

Before Rising

They rise into perfect shapes, albeit differently sized ones.

After Rising, Before Baking

Bake each pan for 10-12 minutes, and you’re on your way to establishing your kitchen cred.  Your family will rise up and call you blessed.

I eat ’em smothered with butter and honey.  Healthy, right?  Others like them plain, or just with butter, or with jelly.  Some have one each way. Beware: eat more than a couple of these rolls and you won’t have room for your “real” food.  Pillowy soft and light as air they may be, but they are also very filling at the same time.  It’s part of their mystery.

Hot Rolls, My Way

Mom’s Hot Rolls
makes 24 rolls

1 pkg. yeast (dissolved in 1/4 cup warm water)
1/2 c. sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1 c. warm water
1/2 c. vegetable oil
1 tsp. salt
4 c. all-purpose flour

Mix dissolved yeast in a large bowl with sugar, eggs and water.  Add oil, salt and flour, and mix thoroughly.  Cover with a damp towel and let stand 8 hours, or overnight (making the rolls at 10 pm if you’re going to roll them out at 7:30ish in the morning is a good time frame).

In the morning, divide the risen dough into three parts.  Roll each part out, on a lightly floured surface, into a circle like pie dough.  Cut into 8 triangular sections (cut it like a pie!).  Roll wide edge in to the point, to form crescent rolls.  Place, evenly spaced 1-2″ apart, on a greased baking sheet.  Let rise 6 hours.

Bake 10-12 minutes at 350.

2 Responses to “Mom’s Hot Rolls”

  1. runesandrhinestones October 3, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    I don’t bake bread as often as I’d like to, but it’s so incredibly easy when I get around to it! I also came across a variant of bread called damper bread that only takes half an hour to put together 🙂 http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/aussie_olive_damper_47860

    • kitchenmommy October 3, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      I’ll have to check that out – thanks!

Leave a Reply

