Basic Fresh Tomato Sauce

28 Sep

It’s not a ketchup.  It’s not a chutney.  It’s not a paste.

It’s just the Best of Tomato, in a jar.  I want to eat it with a spoon.  My plan is to feed it to the Little Guy instead of prepackaged ketchup or other sauces.  Lycopene, here we come!  (At this point in my life, I can’t even remember how lycopene helps us out…  Eyes?  Skin protection?  Immunity?  All I know is, it is good.)

These tomatoes that had been ripening on our counter for several days were calling to me.  I’ve been eating them plain, plucking them one by one off the counter and popping them into my mouth.  But that seemed sort of selfish and almost a waste.  They deserved to be part of something bigger.

Little Beauties

They are such little jewels.  Every bite was a pop of hot summer flavor in my mouth.  I am re-motivated to try again with tomato plants in containers next year.  Third year’s a charm, right?

Pop!

This Fresh Tomato Sauce could so easily be adapted to any flavors you like to cook with, but you won’t be disappointed if you stick with my basic recipe.  Even now, I’m wondering how I can find fresh little tomatoes so I can make this all winter.

Caution: This does involve peeling a bunch of tomatoes.  While the work can be quite satisfying, do not attempt it if you are short on time.  You will find yourself rushed and a tiny bit aggravated, with pockmarked tomato skins to top it all off.  The damaged tomatoes are not a problem, but you will not get the same feeling of accomplishment when you look at them as you would if they are smooth and satiny.

Tomatoes, Peeled and Lovely (mostly!)

This sauce is so easy to make and so tasty.  It tastes tomatoey like ketchup (the vinegar and brown sugar ensure that), but the garlic and onion powders added to those fresh tomatoes really take it to a new level.  I cannot wait to eat it with so many things: sweet potato fries, roasted potatoes, a hamburger, a turkey burger.  And maybe that’s it.  I’m not an “add ketchup, aka fresh tomato sauce, to everything” kind of gal.

Basic Fresh Tomato Sauce

Basic Fresh Tomato Sauce
makes about 1 1/2 cups

Fresh tomatoes, peeled – 12 ounces
1/2 c. canned crushed tomatoes in juice
2 tsp. brown sugar
1 tsp. white vinegar
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. onion powder
1/4 tsp. salt

1. Put the peeled fresh tomatoes in a small saucepan and simmer for about 5 minutes, until warm and beginning to soften and burst.
2. Remove tomatoes to food processor or blender and puree until smooth.  Return tomatoes to pan.
3. Add crushed tomatoes and all remaining ingredients.  Simmer on low heat, stirring frequently, until flavors have melded and sauce has thickened to desired consistency.
(If you want a thicker sauce in general, when you come to Step 3, bring the sauce to a boil and then let simmer.  That’ll take care of it faster.)

2 Responses to “Basic Fresh Tomato Sauce”

  1. runesandrhinestones September 28, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    This looks so easy and tasty. I just need to get my hands on lots and lots of tomatoes!

    • kitchenmommy September 28, 2012 at 10:04 am #

      Good luck! I’m going to have to keep this ready for next summer, for sure!

Leave a Reply

