Sweet Potato Cauliflower Soup

25 Sep

Sweet Potato Cauliflower Soup

I made this for my parents, brother, and husband this past weekend, and they all loved it!  It’s simple, it’s healthy, it’s full of flavor.  But I can’t really claim that it’s very hearty.  They all thought it would need to be served with meat to serve as a main course.

Oh, I forgot.  The Little Guy loved it, too.

Try it yourself!

I found this recipe on the blog Manifest Vegan.  Awesome name, right?  I’m not even vegan, and I want to try so many of the recipes I found there.  I didn’t have garam masala, so instead I seasoned my cauliflower with ground cumin and cinnamon before roasting it.

Sweet Potato Cauliflower Soup
makes 6-8 servings

1 large head cauliflower (about 7″ across), chopped into 1″ pieces
few dashes garam masala (or ground cumin and cinnamon)
drizzle olive oil
3 medium to large sweet potatoes, chopped into bite-sized pieces (I peeled 2 and left the peel on 1)
1 large yellow onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
7 cups vegetable broth (or water or chicken broth)

Preheat oven to 400.  Place cauliflower in large baking dish, sprinkle with spices and drizzle with olive oil; shake or stir to coat evenly.  Roast until golden brown and tender (not mushy), about 25-35 minutes.

In a large stockpot, bring remaining ingredients to a boil.  Reduce heat; simmer until sweet potatoes are tender.  Add in cooked cauliflower and stir to combine.

Using a food processor or blender, pulse half the soup mixture until smooth.  Pour back into stockpot and stir.  Salt and pepper to taste.

P.S. I also made Smoky Chipotle Chicken Chili.  As usual, a crowd pleaser…

2 Responses to “Sweet Potato Cauliflower Soup”

  1. Dali October 5, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    I tried this! It was yummy!! Do you have any idea on the calories per serving?

    • kitchenmommy October 7, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

      I’m so glad you liked it! Yes, I ran the recipe through a calorie calculator. Based on 6 servings per recipe, the nutrition info is as follows:
      Calories 125
      Fat 0.1 g
      Carbs 29.5 g
      Fiber 6 g
      Protein 3.9 g

Leave a Reply

