Party Like a One Year Old

18 Sep

This past weekend we celebrated the Little Guy’s first birthday.  I loved every second of planning for it, and pretty much every second of actually celebrating it.  And, I cried my “this year has gone so fast” tears ahead of time.  That was vital to the success of the event, I believe.

We didn’t do much of a theme.

I didn’t go crazy decorating a fancy cake.

There were no favors, no photo booth, no games.

Just family celebrating our love for the Little Guy and the joy that he leaves in his wake.  Really, he does.  The child is a grin factory.  He loves people, and people just respond to his happiness.  And I have to admit, it might be hard to ignore him when he points directly at you and squeals or leans waaaay over the back of the shopping cart and beams his wide, toothless (yep, he hit the one-year mark without a single pearly white) up at you.  A perfect stranger was once so overcome she kissed him on his satiny little cheek.  I died a little inside but remained calm enough to swab him with a wipe when we got back to the car.  I hope and pray that this bright, happy, generous spirit will always be a hallmark of our Little Guy.

Birthday Boy

Oh boy, enough already!!  I might get all teary after all.  Motherhood has made me a soppy mess.

My original plan was for festive dining in our backyard, opening gifts inside, and then back to the Great Outdoors for cupcakes and cake.  Plan schman!  Nothing every goes completely according to plan on party day, of course.  After we had all the tables and chairs out on the lawn, with tablecloths, with little centerpieces, it began to sprinkle.  It misted until everyone had arrived and was milling about inside, at which point there was no way I was going to attempt to drag everything back outside.  That was all that went awry, actually.  We did not run out of food.  No one was injured.  The Little Guy did not throw any sort of birthday tantrum, although he did miss his afternoon nap and was apparently too excited to have much of a morning nap.

Menu
Appetizers
Fresh Veggies and Dippy Dip (carrots, celery, bell peppers, cauliflower, radishes)
Relish Tray (black olives, green olives, little pickles, pickled okra, pickles cinnamon cucumbers)
Meats
5 lbs. smoked pulled pork
Sides
Potato Casserole (Mom’s recipe)
Stewed Green Beans (new recipe – doubled)
Creamed Corn (Mom’s recipe – doubled)
Calico Baked Beans (Mom’s recipe – should have doubled)
Desserts
Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Glaze (recipe from Joy the Baker’s cookbook)
Zucchini Cream Cheese Pound Cake with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting (recipe from Joy the Baker’s cookbook)

We fed all 20 guests and had enough to feed our 4 extra overnight guests and enough for the two of us to eat dinner Sunday evening.  To me, that’s just the right amount of food.  I’ll share some of these recipes later because they are true go-to’s for me.  I’ve found when I’m feeding a crowd that my mom’s recipes are always a hit.  It must be the copious amounts of butter and/or bacon that are in many of them.

Now it’s time for me to stop eating pound cake for breakfast, to wash those sheets and towels and vacuum our floors and box up the infant toys and steam some sweet potatoes for the Little Guy.  And pick up his new toys before I break an ankle.  “Mommy down” is not the cry we want ringing in our walls!

Zucchini Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

