Stylish SAHM: Day One

17 Sep

Earlier this month I vowed to be a fashionable stay-at-home-mom (extra! extra! read all about it here!).  I wanted to up my style quotient.  I went on a shopping spree and came home equipped with all kinds of cute, comfy-ish clothes to help me toward my goal.

All I have to say is, “It’s a lot harder than it looks, folks.”  It is not easy to be the mom toting around a baby (especially if the baby is also clean, fed, dry and well-dressed) in a stylish little outfit.  The women who can waltz from the house to Target to the park to the grocery store in perfectly cuffed skinnies and animal print flats with a snug cardigan and disheveled scarf – I want to be you!  I’ve got the accoutrements!  I’ve tried to channel your vibe!  But it’s harder than it looks.  It’s going to take some practice.

Today was to be my first “Stylish SAHM” day.

Alas, something failed in the actual wearing of the outfit below.  Actually, several things failed.

1. The jeans were brand new and left denim marks on my brand new cross-body purse as I traipsed through the mall.

2. After wearing them for about 15 minutes (including sitting in the car, where it seems they stretched out), the jeans were hanging about 2 inches lower than they started.  Uncomfortable in two areas.

3. The wind blew my hair all around and into my lip gloss.  It also made the little baby hairs at my part stand straight out at a 45 degree angle.  I am not joking about this.  I was aghast when I looked in the mirror of the cute little boutique.

4. My feet sweated in my awesome animal print flats.  I love those shoes, I do, and I do not want them smelling like gym foot.  If this means they have to sit in a display box in my closet instead of on my feet, so be it… I guess.

But… I am not a quitter.  I will try again.  And I will let you know how it goes.  For now, I’ve got to go launder those jeans.

Leave a Reply

