When Baking, Drink Coffee with Brown Sugar

14 Sep

Image

When baking, I like to forego my usual black coffee.  Instead, I stir a little brown sugar and cream in, with love.  The tenderness with which you wield your spoon makes all the difference.  It’s a delicious treat, and it gets me in that cozy, vanilla spirit that helps turn out the best baking.

Today I’m baking birthday cupcakes for the little guy.  He’s ONE!  Today!

I just couldn’t bear to serve him sugary, chocolatey cupcakes.  So I am instead serving him pumpkin pie-esque cupcakes, courtesy of Joy the Baker‘s cookbook.  Thanks, Joy.  No pressure, but this cupcake could instill a lifelong love or distrust of pumpkin pie in my little boy…

Just kidding.  A cupcake couldn’t do that… but could it?  Maybe?  The batter was aaaaamazing.  I think it could.

Instead of the cinnamon glaze, he’s going to get a thick cream cheese frosting.  And I suppose I should mention, the original recipe is for a bundt cake – but cupcakes are much more birthdayish so that’s the direction we’re headed.

Well, back to the kitchen for me!

3 Responses to “When Baking, Drink Coffee with Brown Sugar”

  1. indjagar September 14, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Happy birthday for the little one 🙂 and i totally get the “getting in the mood for baking” ritual.

  2. abbaphotography September 14, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    Nice post. I’m sure it has been a wonderful first year with the little one. Rewards you never even thought of. But wait it gets better.
    Marti

  3. mydearbakes September 15, 2012 at 3:43 am #

    Wow, that looked so terrific! =)

Leave a Reply

