The Soups of Fall

13 Sep

Fall.  What do you think of?  I think of crisp, blue days.  Chilly breezes that make you grateful for your sweater and scarf.  Woodsmoke in the air.  Crunchy leaves underfood.  Football.  Picking apples.  Hayrides.

And soup!  Because my thoughts generally turn to food after about ten seconds on other topics.

Eating soup, simmering soup, smelling soup.

I love soup for several reasons.

1. It’s easy to make.  Generally, all you have to do is dice a few ingredients, pour in some liquid, season it up, and let it go.

2. It’s warms you from the inside out – exactly what you need after a windy afternoon in the orchard 0r getting your garden ready for winter or wandering through an outdoor shopping center or browsing at the farmer’s market…  You get the idea.  If you’ve been busy or outside or cold, soup is ideal.

3. It goes well with cheese and crackers, which is one of my all-time favorite snacks.

4. It freezes well, so leftovers never go to waste.

5. It generally can serve a crowd.  Fall activities like apple picking, watching football, hayrides, etc., are best enjoyed with at least four other people.  So bring them all home and ladle them some of your soup, too!

Okay.  I’ll stop.

A few of my favorites:

Pumpkin Corn Chowder (from my previous blog, no less!)

Pappa al Pomodoro

Roasted Tomato and Garlic Soup

White Chicken Chili

Rich, Meaty Chili – a meaty version my hubby prefers to my classic bean-rich dish

Ham and Bean Soup (not one of my favorites, but the Big Guy likes it, and I think most guys probably would)

All of these recipes are linked to posts in my previous blog.  Proof that they are tried-and-true favorites in our little home.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “The Soups of Fall”

  1. Vinny Grette September 13, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    I love fall soups too – ingredients freshly harvested and simmered over a cosy afternoon – great!

  2. cooking with audrey September 13, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    YUM – pumpkin corn chowder sounds amazing! i just bought a vitamix – can hardly wait to start making soups!!!

Leave a Reply

