Mom’s Sloppy Joes

11 Sep

Sloppy Joe

I’m going to share my Mom’s Sloppy Joe recipe with you, because it is The Best Ever.  And I’d like to know whether or not you find that to be true yourselves.

You see, I made them for me and the Big Guy, and after downing two generous, messy sandwiches, he asked what was in them.  I told him, benignly anticipating a “Wow, they’re that simple?  But they taste so delightful,” kind of response.  Pride cometh before a fall, of course.

The Big Guy said, after I finished listing my ingredients, “Because they taste a lot like Manwich.”

Manwich?  Manwich?!?!  This flavorful, slightly sweet, rich concoction, that I carefully crafted from scratch?!  Seriously?

Sometimes I wonder about this man I married.

Anyhow.  He clarified that before meeting me, Manwich was the Last Word in sloppy joes.  Huh.  Yep, that made me feel oh, so much better.

Please make these.  Please tell me they’re in an entirely different – better – category than Manwich.

Sloppy Joes
makes about 9 large sandwiches

1 1/2 lbs. ground beef
1 small onion (white or yellow), diced
14 oz. bottle ketchup
1 Tbsp. yellow mustard
1 Tbsp. white vinegar
1 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. white sugar
couple dashes Worcestershire sauce

Brown hamburger with onion, seasoning with black pepper.  Add the rest of the ingredients.  Simmer for at least 15 minutes.

Serve on buns with a highly processed square of American cheese.

The End

Leave a Reply

