Meet My KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Betty

23 Aug

I got a Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer a couple months ago.  I thought it would revolutionize my cooking.  That has not happened yet, but I am not waving goodbye to that particular dream just yet.

The problem, I think, is that I view that big stainless steel bowl as something more difficult to wash up than my big glass mixing bowl.  And I think that rinsing those solid, heavy-duty whisks will be more laborious than scrubbing off my handheld mixer attachments and tossing them in the dishwasher.  The problem is, I have attachment issues.

Always have, probably always will.

I wear my yoga pants until the inside seams (the ones that supposedly will never rub against each other if you’re doing yoga daily in said pants) are worn through.  When I sit down, I see clear elastic.  Actually going to the gym in these pants can feel a little risque.  Who says I don’t live on the edge?!

Once I find a good pair of boots, I stick with them.  I resole them, and have buckles reattached.  I can say, “Yeah, I have a cobbler you should see for that.”  How many 21st century women can say that?

I rotate the same three coffee mugs during the week, although we have a shelf overloaded with a variety of great mugs (rims not too thick but not china-thin, substantial in your hand, holding at least 12 ounces), many of them ones I picked out myself.

I still wear the tiny little locket my parents gave me for my 8th grade graduation.  The hinge is broken, so it’s always wide open, and the chain is beginning to look a little aged.  But it’s got sentimental value.  The same goes for my collection of state spoons and my stamp collection and my coins.  (My, but I was a nerdy child.)  They sit in various “safe places” which I have forgotten, around the house, and there they will remain until a natural disaster takes them from me or one of my nieces, nephews, or children begin to express the appropriate interest in these little collections.

But back to my KitchenAid dreams.  Isn’t she a beaut?  I think I’ll call her Betty.  We’ll have some good times together.  We’ll start with pizza dough and go from there.

Betty, KitchenAid Stand Mixer

Leave a Reply

