Grilling Girl: Steak, Chicken and… Cabbage?!

17 May

The Big Guy likes to think he’s the griller around here.  The truth is, I have a grilling streak in me a mile wide.  And I like to think that streak is rewarded by some success.  I think half a griller’s success is in the way she preps her food, but the other half is certainly in her method:  don’t flip too often, don’t open the lid too often, don’t solely rely on your meat thermometer.  Those are the rules I follow, the method in which my dad instructed me.  Growing up, when he was late coming home or had to run back into town in the middle of grilling, I was his pinch hitter.  I knew how to turn the grill on and how Dad likes it to be cleaned, long before my mom or brother did.  So when I have a chance to take charge of our Traeger, I take it.

A few of my latest triumphs (if I do say so myself…) on this Man’s Machine we call the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

Marinated Flank Steak… we discovered this marinade several years ago and were so enthralled by it that we gave it to the caterer to use at our wedding.  So simple, so yummy!  The funny thing is, it’s officially called Blue Cheese Flank Steak, and we have yet to eat it with blue cheese crumbles.  Go figure.

Key West Grilled Chicken

Key West Grilled Chicken…  Another simple, scrumptious marinade.  Nothing fancy in it, just a few tasty ingredients that work really well together.  I’d use this marinade on shrimp, too – and it’d be great on sauteed tofu.  Next time I’ll add a 1/2 teaspoon or so of cayenne for a little heat.

Grilled Cabbage Wedges with Spicy Lime Sauce

Grilled Cabbage Wedges with Spicy Lime Sauce…  Yum!  Who knew eating cabbage could be such a flavor adventure?  I’m inspired to grill or roast all kinds of veggies and then toss them with a flavorful, spicy, tangy sauce.

Crockpot Chicken Tacos

Crockpot Chicken Tacos…  A girl can’t grill all the time.  That smoke gets in your hair and clothes, and it stays.  So I pulled a crockpot from the depths of my kitchen cabinets and tried this recipe.  I was skeptical, I admit, of the beautiful simplicity of the dish.  But these tacos were awesome.  I’ll be making them again and again for us, and possibly adding them to my “new moms meal list.”  They’re that easy and that good.  I used chicken thighs instead of breasts and added some seasoning to make sure they pleased our palates:  1/4 tsp. cayenne, 1/2 tsp. cumin, 1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder.

One Response to “Grilling Girl: Steak, Chicken and… Cabbage?!”

  1. The Scrumptious Pumpkin May 21, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    The roasted cabbage looks and sounds so yummy! Thanks for the great idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

