I’ve Been Away…

27 Apr

Yes, I have been away.  Have you noticed?  I hope you noticed.

I’ve been at home, I’ve been at my parents, then home again for a day and a half, then back at my parents, then home again, then my parents, grandparents and brother’s family were all over for a little Saturday landscaping day.  The family that works together, stays together.  As my parents liked to say as we pulled yards and yards of goathead stickers from our windbreak, or crept through our newly planted lawn pulling weeds, or pulled up dead vegetable plants in the fall.  Maybe all that yardwork is why I was so satisfied with renting for the first ten years of my post-college life.  Then came marriage, and I went nuts for landscaping.  We’ve got to have some more kids.  My gardens just keep getting bigger, and I need help.

Despite all this traveling and sweating, I have been cooking, too.

I sliced my thumb quite painfully while making a Strawberry Rhubarb Tart (courtesy of The Barefoot Contessa) – with fresh rhubarb from my mom’s garden.  Then I got a papercut on the webbing of that same thumb, leaving me with a paw instead of a left hand.  Not a good way to start your Saturday workday, but I managed.  And maybe it got me out of some of the more physical labor.  Maybe.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

I made my favorite frittata ever – the Asparagus Feta Frittata from Taste of Home magazine – with fresh asparagus and eggs from my mom.  Do you see a trend here?

Asparagus Feta Frittata

I sliced and chopped and minced and shook my way to The Pioneer Woman’s Asian Noodle Salad – and shared some with friends who just had their fourth baby.  Four.  Can you imagine?  Three of them are boys.  Oh, my.

Asian Noodle Salad

I made a Shaved Asparagus Pizza by Annie’s Eats.  And we still have some asparagus left.  It will be steamed or roasted, for sure.  Or eaten raw.  It’s that yummy.

Shaved Asparagus Pizza

I lost my engagement ring for three days and went through all the stages of grief – anger, denial, deep sadness, frustration, thief anxiety, backyard blackbird suspicion.  Found it last night, praise the Lord, just when I think I was gaining some life perspective on the incident (kudos to the Big Guy, by the way, for his gracious and gentle responses throughout the ordeal).

And, I have to say, my friends, I need to take a short break from sharing recipes with you.  We’re all busy, I know, but I think some people deal better and multi-task better than I do, so I’m cutting out a few of the unnecessary parts of my day so I can do what really needs to be done, with grace and patience and a true heart of service.  As much as I love sharing these delicious recipes I find with you, for now I’m going to focus on making and eating the food – more time to spend with my little family and my overbearing landscaping.  And watching the one squirrel who now dines at the feeder on our back fence.

Have a terrific spring and summer, and I’ll be sure to share some of the “best of the best” that graces our table!

2 Responses to “I’ve Been Away…”

  1. The Scrumptious Pumpkin May 2, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    Will miss reading about your latest recipes but glad you’ll have more time to enjoy cooking and eating with family! That asparagus pizza looks so delicious by the way! 🙂

    • kitchenmommy May 3, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      Thanks, I think it’s the right move for me right now. The asparagus pizza WAS delicious! I call it faux healthy…

Leave a Reply

