Creamy Crab Spread

21 Apr

I am so sorry I am just now sharing this recipe with you.  It’s perfect for spring lunches, spring appetizers, spring breakfasts even, perhaps.

You might be thinking, “I don’t know… Crabmeat is just so expensive, and I don’t even like it all that much.  And it’s work to prepare…”  Let me stop you right there, with all due respect.  We’re using imitation crab.  It comes in a package, precooked.  All you have to do is tumble it into your bowl and mix it with the rest of these ingredients.  Oh, and crab is tasty!  Delicately flavored and sort of sweet, so don’t worry about being overwhelmed by in your face CRAB CRAB CRAB flavor in this dish.

Yes, I am a little ashamed that I’m so gauche as to be delighted with an imitation-crab spread.  But it just tastes so good!  I put my pride aside and slather it on everything.  Heck, I’d serve it to my fancy grandma on crustless white bread with tea and scones.  If I had a fancy grandma.  Since I don’t, I’ll just spread it on top of a whole-wheat bread topped with spinach leaves.  Or pile it onto crackers.  Or serve it on lettuce with a hard-boiled egg.  Mmmmm…

creamy crab spread

Creamy Crab Spread
Makes 5 servings (1/2 cup each)

8 oz. lump imitation crab (1 package)
4 oz. 1/3-less-fat cream cheese, softened
1/4 c. nonfat Greek yogurt
1/3 c. fancy shredded sharp cheddar cheese
2 Tbsp. dijon mustard
2 green onions, thinly sliced
1/2 c. finely chopped red bell pepper

In a bowl, combine softened cream cheese, yogurt, mustard and imitation crab.  Stir to break up some of the lumps of crabmeat; leave others whole.  Add cheddar cheese, green onions and red bell pepper, and stir gently to combine.  Refrigerate at least one hour before serving.

Nutrition Info per 1/2-cup serving:  133 calories; 7.3 g fat (4.4 sat); 8.2 g carbs; .2 g fiber; 6.9 g protein

P.S.  You get a ton of creamy greatness for very few calories!

Leave a Reply

