Turkey Meatloaf

20 Apr

Yep, we’re having meatloaf in the middle of April.  It’s the Barefoot Contessa’s recipe, ok?  Her recipes are good any time of year.  I dare you to argue with me on this one.

Who knew I’d get so feisty about meatloaf?  I’m not even a big meatloaf fan.  But this stuff is good.  Ina converted me.  By the way, for admiring Ina Garten, aka the Barefoot Contessa, so much, you would think I’d learn how to correctly pronounce her name.  I’m sorry, Ina.  Please disregard my incorrect pronunciation and instead bask in my admiration.

Ina’s original recipe is gigantic, so the one filed in my recipe box is halved.  You wonder why I’m telling you this.  It’s to explain the strange measurements below.  Math was not my best subject, obviously.

tastes better than it looks

Turkey Meatloaf
Makes 6 servings
recipe from The Barefoot Contessa

1 1/2 c. chopped yellow onion
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1/2 tsp. fresh thyme leaves (or 1/4 tsp. dried)
1/2 of 1/3 c. Worcestershire sauce
1/2 of 3/4 c. chicken stock
3/4 tsp. tomato paste
2 1/2 lbs. lean ground turkey
3/4 c. dry bread crumbs
2 large eggs, beaten
1/2 of 3/4 c. ketchup (approximately – just use as much as you want – you spread it on top of the meatloaf)

Preheat oven to 325.  In a medium pan over medium-low heat, cook the onions, olive oil, salt, pepper and thyme until onions are translucent but not browned (about 15 minutes).  Remove from heat.  Add the Worcestershire sauce, chicken stock and tomato paste; mix well.  Cool to room temperature.

Combine the ground turkey, bread crumbs, beaten eggs, and onion mixture in a large bowl.  Mix well (Your hands work best, really.  I wouldn’t suggest you do such an icky thing unless it really worked.)  and shape into a rectangular loaf on an ungreased, rimmed baking sheet.  Or you can put it in a loaf pan.  Spread the ketchup evenly on top.

Bake 1 1/2 hours or until the internal temperature reaches 160.

Note about baking meatloaves:  A pan of hot water in the oven (Put the water in when you preheat the oven, and it’ll heat up without any effort on your part!), under the meatloaf, keeps the top from cracking.

2 Responses to “Turkey Meatloaf”

  1. The Scrumptious Pumpkin April 20, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    I’ve never tried a Barefoot Contessa recipe I didn’t love 🙂

    • kitchenmommy April 20, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Her recipes are foolproof! Maybe because they’re really so simple!

Leave a Reply

