Cold Chicken Satay Noodles

5 Apr

You could say that the Big Guy is responsible for introducing us to this dish.  Or you could say he was just the catalyst.  I handed him the Rachael Ray “Just in Time” cookbook with two options bookmarked, and he picked this one.  It’s a winner.  We’ll have it again.  Oh yeah.  (And we’ll also be having the other option later in the month, too…  It was the one I really, really wanted – Sorta Soba Bowls – lots of spices and veggies!  Cook’s prerogative.)

It has so many good things in it – peanut butter, spinach, chicken, cilantro – and they all come together in a fresh, light, filling meal.  The sauce coats the noodles and veggies perfectly, and ends with just a hint of heat.  I wanted more heat, so I topped my bowl with Sriracha.  By the way, if you brainstorm any additional ideas to use the sauce, let me know.  I think I’m in love.  Salad dressing, perhaps?  Shrimp marinade and dipping sauce?

Cold Chicken Satay Noodles

I made a couple “adjustments” to the original Cold Chicken Satay Noodles recipe, of course.  I didn’t have whole-wheat spaghetti, so I substituted multi-grain – Barilla Plus, to be exact.  And I didn’t want to buy tamari (aged soy sauce), so I used my trusty, nearly empty bottle of less-sodium soy sauce.  And I had one gigantic bag of spinach, not a 5-ounce package, so I just measured out 4 cups and assumed that was close enough.

Up Close and Personal

Cold Chicken Satay Noodles
original recipe from Rachael Ray; my little adjustments are below
Makes 4 servings (hearty servings!)

1 lb. multi-grain spaghetti, such as Barilla Plus
1/4 c. peanut butter
2 Tbsp. honey
1/4 c. warm water
1/4 c. less-sodium soy sauce
1 garlic clove, grated
juice of 2 limes
1 Tbsp. hot sauce
3 Tbsp. vegetable, peanut or sunflower oil (I used canola)
handful of shredded carrots (about 2 medium)
4 scallions, thinly sliced on an angle
4 c. spinach, thinly sliced
1/4 c. chopped peanuts
2 Tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
2 c. cooked, shredded chicken meat (use rotisserie, or if you roast your own, I used 2 thighs and 1 breast)

Cook spaghetti according to package instructions.  Drain spaghetti well and set aside.

While the spaghetti is cooking, heat the peanut butter briefly in the microwave to soften, about 30 seconds.  Whisk the softened peanut butter with the honey and warm water in a large bowl.  Whisk in the soy sauce, garlic, lime juice and hot sauce.  Add the oil in a steady stream, whisking constantly.  Add the drained noodles to the dressing and toss until the sauce coats the noodles evenly.  Add the carrots, scallions, spinach, peanuts and cilantro, and toss to distribute the ingredients.

Serve the noodles in shallow bowls and top each serving with 1/2 cup of chicken.  Garnish with additional cilantro or peanuts as desired.  Sriracha is a tasty addition, too!

Nutrition Info per serving
541 calories; 24.8 g fat; 2.7 g sat fat; 53.4 g carbs; 6.7 g fiber; 28.1 g protein

The Big Bowl of Noodles

One Response to “Cold Chicken Satay Noodles”

  1. The Scrumptious Pumpkin April 6, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Yum! I’m such a fan of anything with peanut butter 🙂

Leave a Reply

