A Calorie-Counting Fool

27 Mar

Back in September, I thought I’d drop the baby pounds in a few months and be back to my old self in plenty of time for spring, and definitely bikini-ready by summer.

Ha ha.

It just hasn’t been quite that simple.  Let’s not even start with any of the excuses, valid as they may be, and instead, chalk it up to a complete lack of discipline.  I’ve always had a hearty appetite, always loved good food, always enjoyed sharing meals with friends and family.  These pursuits could be termed as “playing with fire” if they aren’t carefully balanced with an active lifestyle.  And prior to the Little Guy coming along, I did balance this culinary joie de vivre with a variety of exercise.  I ran, I lifted weights, I did yoga.  I really enjoyed working out; you could have called it one of my hobbies.

Now, I want to get back to that mindset, that lifestyle!  I want to enjoy exercise as a hobby even as a mother.  I mean, I’ll be a mother for the rest of my life, so if I don’t figure this out now, it’s not going to get any easier!

I’ll be honest, this isn’t just about returning to my healthier lifestyle.  I’d also like to get back into all my pre-baby clothes.  I really liked them.

I find it very helpful to have a plan when I set out on something like this.  In fact, I often annoy those nearest and dearest to me by wanting to help them make plans as well.  I started thinking… Counting calories helped me get down to my goal size five or six years ago.  At that time, I was already on a good, consistent workout program, but I found I really started to see changes when I watched my diet more closely.  Plus, I’m a kind of Type-A person, so recording minute details like every bite I take fits my personality well.

Soooo… let the calorie counting begin now!

I found this awesome free website caloriecount.about.com where you can log all the food you eat as well as your activity each day.  You fill out a personal profile with your current weight, goal weight and time frame, and it calculates how many calories  you should eat daily to get there – plus it tells you, as you log your food throughout the day, how you’re doing – what nutrients you’re short on or if you ate 75% of your carbohydrates for breakfast.

As far as getting back on a strong, consistent exercise routine, I’m training to run a 10K in early June, with a friend (so there’s no going back!).  I ran it several years ago and finished in right about an hour.  I’m not aiming too high this time around.  My goal is to finish in about an hour again.  With the many, many steep hills I’ll encounter on this race, I will in fact be delighted if I finish in that time!  I am dedicated to training for this so I can finish the race, not be embarrassed my the end of it, and feel good enough to enjoy hanging out the rest of the weekend.

I won’t bore you each day with what I ate or how many calories are in those delicious cookies I talked about or how long or far I ran.  But you might see changes in the recipes I post, as I start this new… what shall I call it?  Project?  Adventure?  Discipline?  Maybe it’s all of the above!  I hope to be able to give you a good report in a couple months!

5 Responses to “A Calorie-Counting Fool”

  1. The Scrumptious Pumpkin March 27, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    There is nothing like spring to start putting the pressure on, right? 🙂

    • kitchenmommy March 27, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      Oh my, YES! Sleeveless shirts, summer dresses, and the dreaded… swimwear! LOL.

  2. mamacravings March 28, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    I am right there with you! My son just celebrated his 2nd bday, and I hoped to be 20 lbs thinner at this point.So much for that. But I am not getting discouraged and continuing to focus on health! 🙂

    I have found a great resource in http://www.sparkpeople.com. It’s free. It has a great calorie and fitness tracker and an awesome support system.

    Good luck! We can do this! 🙂

    • kitchenmommy March 29, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Thank you for the encouragement! We sure can – I know it’s just a matter of diligence and using these great resouces that are available. Good luck and keep up the good work!!

      • mamacravings March 29, 2012 at 10:11 am #

        Absolutely! Diligence, resouirces and encouragement are our best tools. 🙂

Leave a Reply

