First Burgers of Spring

4 Mar

It was a gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous day!  Mid 60s, mostly sunny, and breezy, not dry-your-contacts-out windy.  We celebrated by going for a long family walk-jog and then grilling hamburgers.  We haven’t grilled hamburgers since last summer, so this felt like such a celebration of the new season.  Bring it on, spring.  Except for the tornadoes.  We could do without those, and still totally get into the spirit of spring.

I’m looking forward to the way I seem to instinctively want lighter, fresher foods in the spring and summer – looking forward to finding and trying new recipes that are both lighter and fresher than what we’ve been eating.  But for today, I was so, so happy to have a burger.

You may be wondering what the green blob in the top right of my plate is.  Guacamole.  I bought a couple avocados and they were ready to eat.  I know everybody has their own way of making guacamole.  I just discovered a new way myself.  I mash up a couple avocados, sprinkle them heavily with garlic salt, add tomatoes from a can of Rotel, sprinkle some cayenne in and squeeze a generous Tablespoon or two of fresh lemon juice on it.  Yum.  Fresh.

It wasn’t the balanced meal I was thinking of… I forgot I was going to boil ears of corn until it was too late, and then the Big Guy said sweet potatoes counted as vegetables anyway (not another starch) in his book, so I called it good and sat down to enjoy my meal before it got cold.

Sweet potato fries are a huge favorite for us.  Here’s what I do:  thinly slice (about 1/8″) sweet potatoes (with skins still on), toss with olive oil and season with your favorite spices.  Bake at 425 for 20-25 minutes.  They’ll be a little crispy on the outside and tender in the middle.

Today I flavored them with chili powder, garlic powder, dried chives and kosher salt.

Other favorite flavor combos for us are Mrs. Dash’s chipotle seasoning, chili powder, cayenne pepper, garlic salt – or, plain and simple, curry powder.  No matter the seasonings you use, your house will be filled with wonderful aromatics.  After you scarf these tasty little taters down, you’ll then spend the evening ridding your house of said aromatics.  It’s still worth it.

Leave a Reply

