Peanut Butter Baked Oatmeal

3 Mar

Saturday morning treat!  I had time to make a fun new breakfast, and we had time to sit down and eat it together.  With the Little Guy beaming all around from his Exer-Saucer.  It’s a good morning.

Messy in a Bowl

Baked oatmeal has just the right amount of texture going on.  It’s nicely chewy, light but still substantial, and when you hit a pocket of peanut butter, oh my…  Actually, I’m guessing you should not even hit pockets of peanut butter.  Mix better than I do.  My only excuse is that when the Big Guy is hungry, he is H-U-N-G-R-Y.  And he was hungry this morning.

I want to experiment with other kinds of baked oatmeal, too!  Pumpkin… cranberry nut… Well, those are the only two that come immediately to mind.  I don’t get real crazy with my oatmeal.  I’m a brown sugar and cinnamon kind of gal.  Walnuts, too, if I’m feeling rich.

Enjoy!  Make this for your very own morning treat!

Peanut Butter Baked Oatmeal

  • 1-1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup melted light margarine
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Put all the ingredients is a bowl and mix until combined. Transfer to an ungreased baking dish and cook for 20-25 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

I used a 8×8 glass baking dish because doing so billed the baked oatmeal as “soft and gooey.”  As I Am Baker says, “If you use a 9×13 pan they will be a little thinner and less gooey, but also more familiar and delicious. (think warm granola bars).”

Thanks, I Am Baker, for sharing this recipe from Tidy Mom’s site!  Now on my blog reading list…

Leave a Reply

