Today, Being “That Day”

1 Mar

Today is That Day.  The day the Big Guy leaves before 7 a.m.  The day he’s gone until 7 p.m.  The day that, honestly, I kind of dread all week.  Because it means I am Completely On My Own.

As I write this, the Little Guy is down for his (currently) only guaranteed nap of the day.  Usually he’d sleep for a couple hours (Hallelujah chorus in the background), giving me plenty of time to blog a bit, surf online a bit, reheat my cold coffee and gulp it down, take a shower, clean up in the kitchen, make the bed.  But lately he’s only been sleeping about an hour and then waking up to be, periodically, both a darling angel and a fusspot, for the rest of the day.

I’ve already had to change my shirt and his pants once.  Spit-up issue.  But the bed is made, and the dirty dishes from last night have been washed.

So my first real dilemma of the day is this – I’ve got an hour.  I’ve got to see people, non-family people, tonight when our small group meets at 6:30.  They may be in my own home, in fact.  So do I use my hour to take a shower (knowing that it it supposed to be in the high 60’s today and I’d like to take the Little Guy for a long, long walk-maybe-run later that will probably result in sweat), or do I use it to just relax.

… … … … … … … …

I think I’ll take the shower.  Being clean with a little makeup, my hair a little done, helps me feel ready to face the day.  Makes me feel less the harried housewife and more the competent woman.

Plus, I’ve whittled the shower-and-get-ready routine down to about 20 minutes with no interruptions.  Having a baby can do that for you.

… … … … … … … …

You can kind of tell how a day’s going by what you reach for in the afternoon.

A bottle of water?  Feelin’ healthy, ready for your post-work workout.

Pretzel twists and mustard?  Yep, you’re on it.  Sticking to your eat-well plan for the day.

Coffee?  Kind of tired, but you’re going to push through.

Pot de Creme from last week’s unsuccessful cooking episode, that was shoved to the back of the fridge only because you hadn’t thrown it out yet?  It’s been quite a day.  And, make a note, Pots de Creme just might taste best a week later.

2 Responses to “Today, Being “That Day””

  1. Alexis March 3, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    Oh my oh my oh my! How I relate to every aspect this post. Everyday when I wake up I debate showering based on how much I will sweat from running or if my hair will REALLY look that bad if I wait one more day to wash it. ALL I want to do when he naps is sit and relax.

    Enjoyed reading this post!

    Alexis

    • kitchenmommy March 4, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

      I’m glad it struck a chord! I am so with you on wanting to relax during naptime! Have a great week 🙂

Leave a comment