Oatmeal Muffins

29 Feb

I strongly suspect that the Big Guy ate half an enchilada for breakfast this morning.  I feel badly about that.  Leftover enchiladas just aren’t the same as leftover pizza for breakfast.  I felt so badly about it, in fact, that I whipped up some oatmeal muffins.  Yep, for myself.  There were no more enchiladas left.  I was a hungry girl.  And I know he’ll be grateful for them tomorrow morning.

I love oatmeal and knew I wanted to make muffins with oatmeal in them, and I wanted them to be reasonably healthy.  I found a good basic recipe at the Hillbilly Housewife’s site and modified it a bit.  If we’ve never had these muffins without the oil, we can’t miss the oil – was my rationale.  Maybe I was just really hungry, but they were quite tasty.  You’re never going to mistake them for an indulgent, over-the-top-sweet muffin, but you will feel great about grabbing a couple for breakfast!

Simple Muffin, Simple Recipe

Here’s a link to the Hillbilly Housewife’s original recipe, and below is my adapted recipe.

Oatmeal Muffins
Makes: 12 muffins (serving size: 2 muffins)

  • 1 cup dry instant oats
  • 1 cup lowfat vanilla yogurt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon each baking soda & salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

In a large bowl combine the oatmeal and yogurt.  Let it stand for a few minutes, for  the oatmeal to absorb some of the yogurt. Add the egg, sugar and applesauce.  Beat  very well with a wire whisk.  Add the flours, ground flaxseed, cinnamon, baking soda, salt and baking powder. Mix  again, until all of the dry particles are  moistened. Do not over beat. It should only  take about a 20 or 30 strokes by hand to mix  it up enough. Spoon the batter into a dozen muffin cups sprayed with cooking spray. Bake at 400 degrees  for about 20 minutes. Serve hot.

The Big Guy is going to ask me to add chocolate chips to these muffins.  I just know he is.  He asks me to add chocolate chips to everything.

But without the chocolate chips, here’s where we’re standing for a 2-muffin serving:
Calories  281.3
Fat  4 g
Carbs  61.1
Fiber 4.8 g
Protein  8.6 g

Leave a Reply

