Change My Heart

28 Feb

It’s been on my mind a lot.  Not just in an “eat less butter and exercise more” way (although this has also been on my mind and in the works), but in a deep-inside way!

The song “Change My Heart Oh God” runs through my head during the day, when I get frustrated with my Little Guy or when I get frustrated with my Big Guy.  When I am annoyed because the people I love the most (or those I’m only marginally fond of) interrupt my plans for my day.  When the cashier is too chatty for my liking.  When the car in front of me is too slow (but really – 30 in a 40 mph?  really?).  When I seem to have so many things to do, and none of them are going very well – and then, I get frustrated.

Did you notice all those me’s and my’s and I’s?  Yes, it’s a problem.  I am awfully self-centered and my heart shows its ugliness to me all day long.  Which is exactly why I sing that song.  I make it my prayer when in a foul mood I can’t even find words to actually speak to God.  I make it my goal and my hope.  The good news in this is that the Bible says “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you,” (Matt. 7:7, ESV) referring to asking for and seeking things that please and honor God.  And this does, fortunately, so I know He will be faithful to continue His work in me.

So that’s just a little something I’ve been thinking about.

Change My Heart Oh God
Change my heart oh God
Make it ever true
Change my heart oh God
May I be like You

Change my heart oh God
Make it ever true
Change my heart oh God
May I be like You

You are the potter
I am the clay
Mold me and make me
This is what I pray

Change my heart oh God
Make it ever true
Change my heart oh God
May I be like You

Other related verses:

1 Chronicles 28:9:  And you, Solomon my son, know the God of your father and serve him with a whole heart and with a willing mind, for the Lord searches all hearts and understands every plan and thought.  If you seek him, he will be found by you, but if you forsake him, he will cast you off forever.

Jeremiah 17:9-10:  The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?  “I the Lord search the heart and test the mind, to give every man according to his ways, according to the fruit of his deeds.”

Leave a Reply

