Ginger Shrimp with Jasmine Rice

23 Feb

I love using shrimp for meals.  Because – gasp now, all you gourmets! – I buy frozen shrimp.  They are cheap, they are convenient, and all the icky work is already done.  I’m sold.

I found this recipe in a Better Homes and Gardens Favorite Recipes booklet, which I found buried under a pile of equally old magazines in my office.  I am so glad I found it, because this might become a regular in our kitchen.  It’s light (more so if you use brown rice), flavorful, and fast.  I love how the ginger and green onion (both pretty independent flavors on their own) combine for this fragrant concoction.  Don’t be tempted to skip the mango chutney, though.  We both thought it really brought the dish full circle – gives it more of a flavor punch!

A Bowlful of Good

We used Trader Joe’s Mango Ginger Chutney, which is fresh and spicy.  It’s been sitting in my cabinets since last August, so it’s about time we pulled it out…  The recipe below includes my adaptations; click here for BHG’s original recipe.

Ginger Shrimp with Jasmine Rice
Serves 4
8 green onions
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp. minced bottled ginger
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1/4 c. water
2 Tbsp. reduced-sodium soy sauce
1 c. jasmine rice, cooked according to instructions
1 lb. peeled and deveined, cooked medium shrimp
1/4 c. mango ginger chutney

Slice green onions; set aside 1/4 cup.  In an extra-large skillet, cook the remaining green onions, garlic and ginger in the hot oil for 1-2 minutes or until tender.  Add water and soy sauce; bring to a boil.  Add rice and shrimp; stir to combine.  Cook until most of the liquid is absorbed and the shrimp are heated through.  Divide among 4 shallow bowls.  Top with chutney (1-2 Tbsp each) and reserved green onions.

4 Responses to “Ginger Shrimp with Jasmine Rice”

  1. Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant February 23, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    Looks delicious! I will definitely try your recipe. Stop by and say hi 🙂

    • kitchenmommy February 23, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      Let me know how you like it! Hope it’s a hit for you too!

  2. The Scrumptious Pumpkin February 24, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    I think we are on the same wavelength this week – it has a lot of similar ingredients to the chicken & pineapple dish I made this week. So it looks very delicious to me!

    • kitchenmommy February 24, 2012 at 8:36 am #

      I’ll have to check the chicken and pineapple dish out if you put it on your blog! I hope you do try and like this one – it’s even good as leftovers.

Leave a Reply

