Early Bird? Night Owl? Who Knows?!

18 Feb

I’m not a morning person.

I’m a hit-the-snooze-three-times person.  I’m a stay-up-until-two-reading person.  I’m a second-wind-at-eleven person.

But then I had a baby.  Now I’m neither an early bird nor a night owl. I really don’t know what this makes me, other than rather booooring.  I just know that I will take as much guaranteed shut-eye as I can get.  Thus my bedtime and waketime revolve around the Little Guy’s schedule.  Those first months of extreme sleep deprivation are still fresh in my mind – or as fresh as anything from those days can be.

I don’t know what will happen.  Will I become an early bird?  Will I go back to my night owl ways?  I want a couple more hours on one side of my day or the other.  Maybe when spring comes and the sun rises earlier, I too will rise earlier and glide out the door to run three miles and return, refreshed, to start the rest of my day?  Maybe that’s a laughable fantasy, but it is one I’ve had for five or six years now.  Maybe this is the year to make it happen!  Maybe.

For now, I’ll just be happy I can start each day with these things.

Coffee.  And sometimes a Green Monster smoothie.  Thanks, Pinterest and Iowa Girl Eats, for introducing me to this.  Spinach is now on my must-plant list for early spring.

This guy.

Leave a Reply

