Creamy Chicken with Biscuits

16 Feb

I found this recipe in Real Simple while I was working on my big recipe collection-organization project.  A word about that project…  First, I thought about it for about a year as magazines piled up.  Then I started pulling out and piling up recipes for 5 months or so.  Now I’ve finally got the recipes neatly categorized in a binder, and I can just flip through and choose the one I want to try.  It’s heavenly.

And since we’re still firmly in the comfort food season, this crockpot recipe was a clear choice.  Chicken pot pie without having to roll a crust?  Yes, please!  I tossed everything into the crockpot in less than 15 minutes.  And if I hadn’t made the biscuits myself, that would have been it.  But, being the overachiever I am, and liking to try new things (yes, biscuits are relatively new for me!), I made the biscuits.  Hey, you don’t have to knead or roll them.  I’m a fan of that.

So, from my kitchen to yours, Creamy Chicken with Biscuits… chicken pot pie in a crockpot.  It is indeed creamy, as well as being completely delicious!  And the homemade biscuits are worth the extra effort.  Light, fluffy, and very flavorful.

Yum. Just yum.

Creamy Chicken with Biscuits
Serves 6
Recipe below includes my slight modifications; to see the original recipe, click here
8 carrots, peeled and cut into 1″ pieces
2 stalks celery, thinly sliced
1 small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 c all-purpose flour
1-1/4 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs (6)
Nature’s Seasoning and Lawry’s Seasoning Salt
kosher salt and black pepper
1 c chicken broth
6 biscuits (store bought or recipe below)
1 c frozen peas
1 c frozen corn kernels
1/2 c heavy whipping cream

In a 4- to 6- quart crockpot, toss together the carrots, celery, onion, garlic and flour.  Season the chicken with Nature’s Seasoning and Lawry’s Seasoning Salt and place on top of vegetables.  Season with salt and pepper.  Add the broth.
Cover and cook until the chicken and vegetables are tender, on low for 5 to 6 hours or on high for 2-1/2 to 3 hours.
Thirty minutes before serving, prepare your biscuits.
Ten minutes before serving, add the peas, corn and cream, and stir to combine.  Cover and cook until heated through, 5 to 10 minutes more.
To serve, place the bottom halves of the biscuits in shallow bowls and top with chicken mixture and top biscuit halves.

Easy-Drop Biscuits
2 c all-purpose flour
1/2 c (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp kosher salt
1 c skim milk (they called for whole, but I had skim)
Heat oven to 400.  In a food processor, combine the flour, butter, baking powder and salt; pulse until pea-sized clumps form.  Add the milk and pulse just until moistened.
Drop 6 large mounds of the dough (about 1/2 c each) onto a baking sheet.  Bake until golden, about 18 to 20 minutes.
Feel proud that you just made biscuits yourself.  Take that, Pillsbury!

Leave a Reply

