No-Bake Energy Bites

12 Feb

Like nearly every other woman in my acquaintance, I am an avid Pinner.  As if I didn’t need another way to waste time online, I discovered Pinterest a few short weeks ago and now spend valuable fifteen-minute increments (okay, maybe even thirty-minute increments) looking at pins and boards.

But it really is such a valuable resource!  I found a great spinach smoothie that we will drink again and again.  In fact, I’ve added spinach to my garden list this spring so I don’t break the bank buying a bag or two of spinach every week.  And now I found this Energy Bites recipe on Pinterest.  I have no idea who originally shared it or came up with the recipe, so I’ll just link to the blog that I first saw it on – Gimme Some Oven!

I followed the recipe today but when I plugged the ingredient list into my recipe calculator (I used SparkRecipes.com.  Entering the ingredients is time-consuming, but I think it’s accurate at least.), the bites clocked in at a whopping 196 calories and 11 g of fat each.  Granted, I do only make 14 large walnut-sized bites, but still…  They’re so bite sized I know I won’t be able to stop with one, and I don’t want that one to pack in 200 calories and 11 grams of fat.

The Original No-Bake Energy Bites

The Original No-Bake Energy Bites
1 c. instant oats, toasted
1 c. sweetened coconut flakes, toasted
1/2 c. ground flaxseed
1/2 c. chunky peanut butter
1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/3 c. honey
1 tsp. vanilla

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and refrigerate thirty minutes.  Roll into 14 walnut-sized balls.  Refrigerate up to 1 week.

My Adapted No-Bake Energy Bites – as of posting, this recipe is untried so tester beware!
1 c. instant oats, toasted
1/2 c. sweetened coconut flakes, toasted
1/2 c. ground flaxseed
1/2 c. chunky peanut butter
1/2 c. dried cranberries
3 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/3 c. honey
1 tsp. vanilla

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and refrigerate thirty minutes.  Roll into 14 walnut-sized balls.  Refrigerate up to 1 week.

Makes 14 servings.

Calories 153.7
Fat 7.9 g
Saturated Fat 2.2 g
Carbohydrates 19.3 g
Fiber 3.4 g
Sugars 11.6 g
Protein 4.2 g

Happy Snacking!

Leave a Reply

